"Until the lions have their own historians the history of the hunt will always glorify the hunter...."
- Chinua Achebe

2016, ജനുവരി 1, വെള്ളിയാഴ്‌ച


On independence the integration of Princely States and creation of new States or re-organization of States were challenges before the Constitution-makers as well as the first government of independent India. At the time of framing the Constitution, there were nearly 700 big and small Princely States. By way of a passing reference, while moving the Objectives Resolution in the Constituent Assembly on 13th December 1946 (in which neither the Indian States nor the Muslim League were at that time represented) Nehru said that the resolution did not concern itself with what form of government the States had or whether the Rajas and Nawabs will continue or not.1 These Princely States claimed their right of independence even after India became independent. As a part of the imperialist design, the Cabinet Mission Plan accepted the viewpoint of the Princely States. continue reading.....